Talk Boy Share Wrapped In Blue

It’s always a lovely day in Austin, TX when we are finally seeing the end of our four year reign of idiocracy in America. Though they may be from across the pond, Leeds based outfit Talkboy has shared the perfect tune for the day. Yes, “Wrapped in Blue”, seems like the perfect, upbeat, and fun tune to commemorate this joyous day. It’s sort of like an early Killers sound if they decided to throw in more elements of super bright indie pop. Enjoy and celebrate!

Talk Boy will release an EP entitled Wrapped in Blue, featuring this title track, on February 11th via Come Play With Me/LAB Records.


Breezy Track From Cool Ghouls

If you have some time on your hands and wanted to do a quick search for Cool Ghouls on our site, you’d immediately see we’ve had a serious fanfare for the San Francisco group over the years. Recently the band has been a bit quiet, but we were pumped to find out about an upcoming record entitled At George’s Zoo, due out March 12th on Empty Cellar/Melodic Records (UK). Prior to the album drop, Cool Ghouls were kind enough to share with us the lead single from the album “Helpless Circumstance” for your ever awaiting ears. I’m simply overjoyed to hear that old familiar psych/Americana rock sound from the band, but this time with a touch of a folk inspiration akin to CSNY or Fruit Bats. Welcome back friends!

Top Songs Of 2020

The weeks after the holidays are always a bit slow so maybe you are in need of some background music/playlists as we all return to work? If so, might I suggest you check out our massive Best of 2020 Spotify playlist which you can find below or embedded in our sidebar. We post a lot of tunes throughout the year so we didn’t see a need to edit this down to some sort of randomly numbered Top List. Enjoy!

Bumping New Track From The Ninth Wave

Glasgow based outfit The Ninth Wave truly came onto my musical radar during SXSW in 2019 when I interviewed them as part of our festival guide. Since that time, the band dropped their critically acclaimed debut album Infancy and released an EP entitled Happy Days! earlier this year. Staying ever busy, the band just released this banging new single today called “Everything Will be Fine”. If you were looking for a little Friday morning motivation, look no further, as this tune is full of fun energy, hope, and an overall danceable vibe. Hit play on this one and get your dance party started early.

Have Another Jam From Yung

The entire ATH staff has truly embraced the young Danish band Yung over the last several years, having consumed everything they send our way. A testament to this fandom, Nathan shared a new album announcement from the band earlier this month, and also let go on a new single called “Above Water”. Well today I am climbing aboard the hype train of the new Yung album by releasing to the masses this slick new song, “Such a Man”. I’m continually stunned by this band’s ability to offer dashes of indie rock, but with this dark, post-punk, somewhat aggressive, and majorly in your face vibe. Dig on that.

Yung will release new album Ongoing Dispute on January 22nd via PNKSLM.

Communions Return With Splendor

We made a ton of posts about Danish band Communions way back in 2014-2015 and we’ve since lost touch with the band though they’ve continued to put out music over the last 4-5 years. Our lack of awareness will hopefully be forgiven as you check out this new track called “Splendour” and enjoy all the lovely components to break down. The song offers some new wave, pop elements combined with a more intimate and breathy take on things akin to say Choir of Young Believers or similar outfits. If you forgot about the band, as we unfortunately did, it’s time to start paying attention again.

This track is the first with the bands new hometown label Tambourhinoceros. More to come hopefully.

Enjoy This Orchid Mantis Tune

It’s more likely than not that you are unfamiliar with the experimental sounds created by Atlanta based musician Orchid Mantis. I assume this not because the music is not worthy of recognition, but because the artist has flown largely under the radar for the last several years (possibly on purpose). Popularity and notoriety will surely follow if more songs like this one called “Can’t See the Sun” continue to find their way onto the interwebs. Though somewhat experimental, the track is just downright catchy as hell and evokes a feeling of a more stripped down version of Beach Fossils with vocals akin to Jonathan Pierce of The Drums.

This song appears on a new album entitled Far From This World due out November 20th on Z Tapes.


Hollow Graves Drop Far Out Summer

Phew, what a week/month it’s been for everyone here in the ATH offices. As we near the end of what seems like an endless 2020, it seems appropriate that I would seek comfort from our Canadian neighbors of the north. Offering me this comforting sound today is Toronto based outfit Hollow Graves and their bright and warm new tune called “Far Out Summer”. With shoegaze rooted in the core of the song, it can certainly be a bit hazy, but I’m loving that the band has really brightened things up bouncy guitars and an almost airy feel. It’s as though the Beach Boys wrote a popping shoegaze song.

Eades Deliver Another Hit

Our pals in Leeds based band Eades have been hard at work this past year having released several singles and their impressive debut EP, Microcosmic Things. Though it’s been a creative and productive year for the group, they aren’t quite done yet with this new single called “Forgive my Mind” coming out today via Bam Bam Records. It is yet again a display of true slacker rock but with super tight instrumentation, interesting guitar leads, and the always steady rhythm section. If you don’t know about the band, you should check them out now.

Nothing Drop Video For April Ha Ha

Crazy as it may seem, Philadelphia based boys Nothing are going on 10 years in existence though it seems like yesterday when they were proclaimed “band to watch” by just about every music blog with a keen ear. Now showing major signs of truly growing into their very own unique sound, the band dropped their fourth album entitled The Great Dismal last Friday via Relapse Records. Personally, I think the album is an immediate classic and a possible contender for my albums of the year list.

Always the creators, Nothing prepared four videos from the album’s singles with the last one for track “April Ha Ha” coming yesterday. It’s one of my favorite songs from the album and comes after previous videos for “Famine Asylum”, “Say Less”, and “Bernie Sanders”. Care to hear more? You can actually stream The Great Dismal right now and/or purchase a physical copy from Relapse Records.

1 2 3 357