New Jam From Little Deadman

Catchy rock n roll tunes are what you’ll get from relatively new San Diego based band Little Deadman.  Often times the band draws comparisons to White Denim or a poppier version of The Black Angels.  This new song “Post Helado Madness” exhibits both of those sounds to create a little rocking ditty that’s sure to get your swagger going.  For now, the band only offers this song as a single in preparation for a new LP due out sometime in early 2012.  Rock.


Download: LIttle Deadman – Post Helado Madness [MP3]

New Music From No Yes No

Here’s a little driving rock song I’ve been enjoying recently from new find No Yes No.  The band, hailing from Brooklyn (duh), are using this song “Youngins” to promote their brand new EP which is available for stream and purchase on their bandcamp page.  I was quickly drawn to the sort of Joy Division new age sound created by this tune and hope you kids like it too.


Download: No Yes No – Youngins [MP3]

New Music From Dan Mangan

Here’s a sweet new tune from folk songwriter Dan Mangan called “Oh Fortune” that we’ve been enjoying today.  The song is set to appear on a new album of the same name due out September 27th on Arts & Crafts.  For now we can only offer you a stream of the song, but an MP3 can be found over on the Dan Mangan site.  The guys really is an incredible songwriter.


New Music from Big Wave Riders

Apparently it’s going to be sort of a Scandinavian type day in my house, as I’ve just gotten another gem from the region via Finland’s Big Wave Riders.  The band is prepping their digi-EP for new label, Soliti Music, which will also be home to the new work from Cats on Fire.  They posted a great track to their page, and I just fell in love.  It begins with sort of a washed out guitar vibe, one that you’d expect from a California beach group, but then the pace picks up, and it turns into momentary dance-pop, and returns once again to the beautiful wash.  This is definitely something new and exciting from a great prospect for 2011.


Download: Big Wave Riders – Skate or Die [MP3]

New Pop Hit from Oh No! Yoko

The great part of being involved in little music communities outside the blogosphere is that you always discover fun little gems that you mightn’t have found otherwise. That’s where I discovered this fun little track from Vancouver group, Oh No! Yoko. They just released a nice little album full of similarly fun tunes titled Pau Pau, so if you dig what’s going on below, it’s worth taking a hard look at.  For me, I kind of get the feeling of Passion Pit or Harlem Shakes, but I think a lot of that has to do with a serious vocal link.  So sit back, take it in, and enjoy yourselves.


Download: Oh No! Yoko – 90’s Kids [MP3]

New Track from Pallers

If you’ve been reading our blog for some time, you probably already know that I’m a huge fan for the Labrador label.  They’ve already put out some great records this year, and it looks like we’re soon going to have another gem on our hands.  Pallers is a duo, as noted in the picture to the left, and they’ll be releasing their record, The Sea of Memories, on September 27th.  The music is filled with melodic slow paced electronic tinkering, but the wispy quality of the vocals really makes this song the charmer that it is.  You can pick this up in the single format at the end of July.


Download: Pallers – Come Rain, Come Sunshine [MP3]

New Track from Canon Blue

Our writer JWag turned me onto this great track, and I’ve been playing this track all morning long. Daniel James is the man behind the project Canon Blue, and he’s worked in the past with Chris Taylor of Grizzly Bear (who seems to work with everyone). This time round, he’s been hanging with Efterklang, prepping the completion of his new record, Rumspringa.  It’s going to come out on August 16th on Temporary Residence, and you’re going to love the craftsmanship of the songs on this collection, both orchestrated carefully and maintaining a clever pop lineage.  Trust me, you’ll love this track.


Download: Canon Blue – Indian Summer (DesMoines) [MP3]

New Jam from AM & Shawn Lee

If you were working hard partying, you might have missed the buzz at SXSW about the recent collaboration between AM (LA based pop artist) and Shawn Lee (British songwriter).  Regardless, now is your chance to get into the brilliant work that has come about by way of their union. They’ve signed a deal to release a record with ESL Music, and they’ll be releasing a 7″ on ESL July 19th.  We’ve got the title track, and it’s got me in a rather good mood today.  It opens with sort of a soundscape-electronica-pop feel, but when you get to the chorus, I swear you’ll hear the ghost of Grandaddy.  That doesn’t sound too bad to me.  Hope you kids like it.


The full length, Celestial Electric, comes out August 30th on ESL.

Austin Town Hall Summer Sampler

It’s that time of year again ladies and gentlemen, time again for another summer sampler from your favorite music website Austin Town Hall.  Included in your sampler, you’ll find 24 new summertime songs from local and national artists who’ve received the ATH stamp of approval.  You’ll recognize longtime favorites like Appleseed Cast, Crystal Antlers, and Handsome Furs along with recent finds like Little Lo, Saint Motel, and Seapony.  As always, you can choose to download the sampler in a handy zip file or just simply stream the whole thing right from the sampler website.  You’ll also recognize some fancy artwork created by our very own creative mind raygun.  We hope you enjoy the sweet tunes while you chill by the pool with one our favorite summer beers.  Thanks to all involved artists.

Stream and download the summer sampler right here.

New Music From Oax

While perusing the internets, I came across a song by Oax (pronounced Oaks) who we recently discovered opening for The Rosebuds last weekend.  Digging a little deeper into the bio, it turns out that leading man Giorgio Angelini recently returned to Houston by way of NYC to pursue his master’s degree after a long stint in the music game playing bass for The Rosebuds and Bishop Allen.  After a short hiatus focusing on his degree, Angelini could stay away no longer and recorded a mostly solo album (mixed at Public Hi-Fi in Austin) with guest vocals from Chris Simpson on one song and drums from Jim Eno on another.  The song I picked up “Liar, Cheat, Jerk” appears on new EP The Distance which is available now on Bladen County Records.  It’s sort of a Lucero meets early Wilco style that we here at ATH dig.


Download: Oax – Liar, Cheat, Jerk [MP3]

1 978 979 980 981 982 1,163