New Tunes from Kathryn Calder

The ridiculously beautiful Kathryn Calder of New Pornographers is at it again.  She’s just released her second single from her debut album, Are You My Mother, which comes out on August 10th.  It’s a gentle ballad with the focus on piano playing.  Something in her vocal delivery reminds me of a young Jenny Lewis, and you know that can’t be a bad thing by any means.  Make sure to give this plenty of spins today, as its well worth your time.


Download: Kathryn Calder – Arrow [MP3]

New Music From RJD2

The hottest man in the realm of white boy hip-hop music RJD2 has been a busy guy over the least year or so.  Last year he dropped new album Colossus our way and now just released new joint Inversions of the Colossus last week.  Not entirely new, his latest release features 7 instrumental versions of songs from his last album along with 7 new jams he’s been working on.  Opening track to his latest “The Perfect Occasion” can be found below.  It’s perfect for getting you amped up before going out this weekend.


Download: RJD2 – The Perfect Occasion [MP3]

New Tunes from Jukebox the Ghost

I”ll admit that I’m a sucker for any ballad that appropriately incorporates a piano into a pop track.  Lucky for me, the new single, “Empire,” from Jukebox the Ghost does just that.  It’s all geared up to give a big push to the rising band as they prepare to release their album Everything Under the Sun on September 7th.  You know it will be nothing chocked full of catchy hooks and great melodies, so take a listen to this one while you’re here.


Download: Jukebox the Ghost – Empire [MP3]

New Music From Dead Confederate

Athens, Georgia alt-rockers Dead Confederate have a new song I dig available for free on their website called “Giving it All Away”.  The track is set to appear on the groups upcoming LP Sugar which is available August 24th on Old Flame Records.  Hope you enjoy their new joint below as much as I have over the last day or so.


Download: Dead Confederate – Giving it All Away (Featuring J Mascis) [MP3]

Free EP from Alex Winston

Alex Winston is a talented young lady.  With the help of a few powerful producers, she created The Basement Covers EP, a wonderful collection of covers,  all by herself, playing all the instruments.  You’ll find her sounds are similar to other pop female artists like Feist, and we know there are a whole bunch of you out there excited by that comparison.  You can get her free EP right HERE with just the submission of an email address. Give it a try, I know you’ll like it.


Download: Alex Winston – The Cave (Mumford & Sons Cover) [MP3]

New Tunes from The Paperbacks

Canada’s The Paperbacks have been providing us with amazing tunes since back in 2003, crafting lush melodies with their careful guitar work.  Their most recent album Lit From Within is a double record, which is a substantial number for any release.  I mean, if you’re looking for a bad song, you might find one, but odds are, with a collection like this, you’ll find much more hits.  Such is the latest single from the band, “Perpetual Autumn.” We know you’ll love this one.


Download: The Paperbacks – Perpetual Autumn [MP3]

New Music From Wild Nothing

Jack Tatum and his project known as Wild Nothing is grown in fame all over the internet as you’re reading this.  The guy recently dropped one of our favorite LPs of the year Gemini and already just released a new EP entitled Evertide.  Needless to say, the guy’s been a busy bee.  Enjoy a new track from the EP out now on Warmest Chord below.


Download: Wild Nothing – Your Rabbit Feet [MP3]

New Tunes from The Thermals

Now that they have a full-time drummer, it’s like The Thermals can’t be stopped. They put out a great record last year, and now news comes that their newest record, Personal Life, will hit stores September 7th via Kill Rock Stars.  We won’t complain, as we love this band.  The latest single is quick, catchy and not short on the fun, so hopefully you’ll find it beneficial to the doldrums of a slow Tuesday.  If not, at least you have new tunes from this great band.


Download: The Thermals – I Don’t Believe You [MP3]

New Tunes from Electric Sunset

Fresh out of the ashes of Desolation Wilderness comes a new project from Nic Zwart titled Electric Sunset.  The first single from his upcoming self-titled album, which comes out September 7th on K Records.   He’s blending electronic moments with extreme pop, all which lead to blissful moments for the listener.  His record is a sort of journal of sorts, so we’re all sure to find some lyric we can relate to on some level. You’ll want to be sure to get into this now, as everyone’s bound to be talking about this come the fall.


Download: Electric Sunset – Soda [MP3]

New Tunes from David Vandervelde

This guy just won’t quit! David Vandervelde always writing songs, and we’re always falling in love with them.   He’s prepping a new 12″ release, Summer Time Hits, that is set to come out on August 3 via Secretly Canadian, and we’ve got one of those new songs for you to check out.  This tune has a touch of glam rock, and there’s a little bit of a falsetto in his voice, similar to the high pitched yelps of Ted Leo.  It’s a lot more rocking than his last effort, but when did the rock ever bother us here at ATH?  Precisely, it doesn’t, and it shouldn’t bother you, so get with it.


Download: David Vandervelde – Checkin’ Out My Baby [MP3]

1 1,039 1,040 1,041 1,042 1,043 1,162