Sweet New Track from Grand Duchy

While trolling the inbox and the internets for content to highlight in the first IT Dept. post of 2012, Nathan was kind enough to point me to this track. It gets its own post because it is awesome.

Grand Duchy is Frank Black and his wife Violet Clark pulling a Handsome Furs. This is the first I have heard off of Let the People Speak, the forthcoming follow-up to Petite Fours. Due April 10th, the new album, in their words, is “definitely more about slamming it in.”

Odd spoken bits, long lead in that makes you nervous but excited. This should give you a hint of what’s up in the Black/Clark household.


Download: Grand Duchy – Silver Boys [MP3]

New Psych Pop From Royal Canoe

Below you’ll find yourself a digital download of the new song “Hold On To The Metal” from Winnipeg based outfit Royal Canoe.  Expect psych pop similar to Yeasayer or even Portugal. The Man mixed in with a dash of sunshine.  This song will appear on the groups upcoming EP Extended Play due out in the U.S. on February 21st.  You might remember that we first introduced this band around this time last year when we dropped out SXSW sampler 2011.


Download: Royal Canoe – Hold On To the Metal [MP3]

More New Music From Capybara

Just last month we dropped a new song your way from Kansas City quartet Capybara “Late Night Bikes” and have yet another one to share with you today.  This one is called “Neighbor Crimes” and also appears on the bands upcoming LP Dave Dusky due out February 7th on The Record Machine.  Having heard the band’s new album in its entirety, I can honestly say that you’ll want to make yourself a purchase when it hits stores.


Download: Capybara – Neighbor Crimes [MP3]

New Rocker from X Ray Eyeballs

It’s been a busy few years for XRay Eyeballs, the project of several members of Golden Triangle; they released a full-length, a 7″, and now they’re back with a new album titled Splendor Squalor.  Their new effort will come out on February 28th via Kanine Records, and you know we’ll be supporting this group.  If you’re looking to make a musical connection, think of The Kills with a mid-70s Max’s Kansas City vibe to it; it’s fueled by bits of garage rock with hints of sexuality tied into it. These guys always make for a great listen, so get on it now.


Download:Xray Eyeballs – X [MP3]

New Music From Shearwater

I’m sure plenty of you have already heard this new Shearwater tune and have reveled in all its glory.  I wanted to post it here anyway because it’s just too irresistible and shows a new direction for the band that I support in full.  The track in question is “You As You Were” and appears on the bands upcoming LP Animal Joy due out February 14th on Sub Pop Records.  It shows a since of pop from the band that we’ve never seen before and it keeps me intrigued for what’s to come.  Another new song “Breaking the Yearlings” is also available for download over on the Sub Pop site.

[audio: http://austintownhall.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/Shearwater_YouAsYouWere.mp3]

Download: Shearwater – You As You Were [MP3]

Sweet Folk Tune from Lost Lander

Those of you looking for something to fulfill your folk/americana niche this week definitely need to look into Lost Lander, the project of Matt Sheehy. He’s just released his debut for the project, DRRT, this week, and I’ve definitely got some room on my daily playlist for this album.  There’s definitely a rising moment in this song, as the strummed guitar builds to an eruption of lush orchestration featuring various string instruments; it all crashes into a steady drumbeat, creating an emotionally beautiful moment within the song…and then it even has a bit of a breakdown.  This isn’t your run-of-the-mill folk number, so lose yourself in this jam.


Download:Lost Lander – Afraid of Summer  [MP3]

Rambunctious New Single from the Maxines

In the midst of everything out there, you gotta look hard to find catchy gems like this new number from the Maxines.  The Olympia duo are releasing their Drugstore EP on the eclectic K Records next week, and while it may be a bit short in length it definitely packs a nice little punch for your ears. For a band with only two members, there’s definitely a loud sound coming out, harkening back to the bratty riot-girl efforts from back in the day.  The EP also features guitarist Matt Maurillo on vocals, so be sure to pick this one up when it hits your stores next week.


Download:The Maxines – Hang Around [MP3]

Kicking New Jam from Diamond Rugs

What do you get when you combine bits of Deer Tick, Black Lips and a handful of other songwriters? One listen to the latest single by Diamond Rugs and you’ll see that it’s clearly a country-tinged rock effort.  The band’s a collaboration, and they’ll be releasing their self-titled album on April 24th via Partisan Records.  It’s primarily the work of John McCauley of Deer Tick, but there’s definitely a visible edge being added by the other members, so you’re sure to see a heavier touch on the full-length–you can even feel it a bit in this track.  Seems like it could be pretty solid through and through.


Download:Diamond Rugs – Gimme a Beer [MP3]

Great New (Last?) Song from Magic Bullets

When talking to the Terry Malts earlier this year, I was really sad to hear that their other project Magic Bullets was pretty much closed, possibly for good.  Still, the band is going to release one final EP on Mon Amie Records on April 3rd, and I’m pretty pleased with the final result; it’s titled Much Ado About.  For their faster paced current workings, you’ll find a cleaner sheen on the Magic Bullets front, possibly even one that gets you swaying from side to side with your arms flying through the air.  If you haven’t checked out the band’s first self-titled effort, you should definitely pick it up, as it’s one of the most complete albums I’ve heard in the last few years.


Download:Magic Bullets – What Took You So Long [MP3]


New Pop Jam From Kapowski

It seems like a perfect day to kick us into 2012 with some catchy pop tuneage.  This one is provided by Oakland based outfit Kapowski and goes by the name of “Section Eight”.  Have yourself a few listens and tell me that beat isn’t already inside your head.  New album from Kapowski, Boy Detective, is due out February 1st.

[audio: http://austintownhall.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/Kapowski-SectionEight.mp3]

Download: Kapowski – Section Eight [MP3]

1 985 986 987 988 989 1,206