Austin A2W: Paperthreat

Over the last week or so I’ve found myself giving some heavy spins to the tunes created by Austin electronic-pop group Paperthreat.  The band is fronted by veteran to the Austin music scene Rene Rodriguez who has been actively involved over the years in bands like Great Nostalgic, AM Syndicate, HumbleBums, and a few others.  After Rene tired of his previous groups, he struck out on his own and began Paperthreat with drummer and former bandmate Vincent Durcan.  The two then enlisted the help of Arius Holifield and guitar player Niko Bakulich to round out a live band.  In the short time the band has been in existence, Paperthreat have only one EP which you can download for free over their Bandcamp site.  I’ve been jamming that EP for a couple weeks now and I’ve yet to come up with a comparison I feel confident about.  That’s a good thing thought right?  Download that EP or have a listen below to their jam “Conveyor” and make your own comparison.

If you care to see the band live, head out to Beauty Bar tonight (6/30) for a a free show starting at 10pm.  Zlam Dunk will be headlining that one.


Download: Paperthreat – Conveyer [MP3]

Gun Outfit @ Beerland (7/1)

Date Thursday, July 1st
Location Beerland
Doors 900p
Tickets $6 at the Door

It’s been a slow week for rock n’ roll right? Well, we have news that should make you a little bit more excited.  There’s a great show coming your way on Thursday night at Beerland.  Olympia group Gun Outfit will be making their way into town bringing a bit of grunge with a bit of Beat Happening.  And don’t let me get you started on the fact that opening the show is one of our favorite newcomers Fergus and Geronimo, along with Austin band Literature. Seriously, get there early, drink a few beers, and enjoy a night full of amazing bands.


Download: Gun Outfit – Troubles Like Mine [MP3]

New Music From Dead Confederate

Athens, Georgia alt-rockers Dead Confederate have a new song I dig available for free on their website called “Giving it All Away”.  The track is set to appear on the groups upcoming LP Sugar which is available August 24th on Old Flame Records.  Hope you enjoy their new joint below as much as I have over the last day or so.


Download: Dead Confederate – Giving it All Away (Featuring J Mascis) [MP3]

Free EP from Alex Winston

Alex Winston is a talented young lady.  With the help of a few powerful producers, she created The Basement Covers EP, a wonderful collection of covers,  all by herself, playing all the instruments.  You’ll find her sounds are similar to other pop female artists like Feist, and we know there are a whole bunch of you out there excited by that comparison.  You can get her free EP right HERE with just the submission of an email address. Give it a try, I know you’ll like it.


Download: Alex Winston – The Cave (Mumford & Sons Cover) [MP3]

New Tunes from The Paperbacks

Canada’s The Paperbacks have been providing us with amazing tunes since back in 2003, crafting lush melodies with their careful guitar work.  Their most recent album Lit From Within is a double record, which is a substantial number for any release.  I mean, if you’re looking for a bad song, you might find one, but odds are, with a collection like this, you’ll find much more hits.  Such is the latest single from the band, “Perpetual Autumn.” We know you’ll love this one.


Download: The Paperbacks – Perpetual Autumn [MP3]

New Music From Wild Nothing

Jack Tatum and his project known as Wild Nothing is grown in fame all over the internet as you’re reading this.  The guy recently dropped one of our favorite LPs of the year Gemini and already just released a new EP entitled Evertide.  Needless to say, the guy’s been a busy bee.  Enjoy a new track from the EP out now on Warmest Chord below.


Download: Wild Nothing – Your Rabbit Feet [MP3]

New Tunes from The Thermals

Now that they have a full-time drummer, it’s like The Thermals can’t be stopped. They put out a great record last year, and now news comes that their newest record, Personal Life, will hit stores September 7th via Kill Rock Stars.  We won’t complain, as we love this band.  The latest single is quick, catchy and not short on the fun, so hopefully you’ll find it beneficial to the doldrums of a slow Tuesday.  If not, at least you have new tunes from this great band.


Download: The Thermals – I Don’t Believe You [MP3]

New Tunes from Electric Sunset

Fresh out of the ashes of Desolation Wilderness comes a new project from Nic Zwart titled Electric Sunset.  The first single from his upcoming self-titled album, which comes out September 7th on K Records.   He’s blending electronic moments with extreme pop, all which lead to blissful moments for the listener.  His record is a sort of journal of sorts, so we’re all sure to find some lyric we can relate to on some level. You’ll want to be sure to get into this now, as everyone’s bound to be talking about this come the fall.


Download: Electric Sunset – Soda [MP3]

New Tunes from David Vandervelde

This guy just won’t quit! David Vandervelde always writing songs, and we’re always falling in love with them.   He’s prepping a new 12″ release, Summer Time Hits, that is set to come out on August 3 via Secretly Canadian, and we’ve got one of those new songs for you to check out.  This tune has a touch of glam rock, and there’s a little bit of a falsetto in his voice, similar to the high pitched yelps of Ted Leo.  It’s a lot more rocking than his last effort, but when did the rock ever bother us here at ATH?  Precisely, it doesn’t, and it shouldn’t bother you, so get with it.


Download: David Vandervelde – Checkin’ Out My Baby [MP3]

New Tunes from The Innocence Mission

It’s hard to keep track of just how many albums The Innocence Mission has released to date, but if you’re a fan of their quiet bedroom spectacles, then the fact that they’re soon to release yet another album is surely exciting news. The album is titled My Room in Trees, and it will hit the streets on July 13th.  The lead single, “The Happy Mondays,” is exactly what you would expect, and the little nuance of a quickened pace mid-track really warms the heart.  Happy Monday to you.


Download: The Innocence Mission – The Happy Mondays [MP3]

1 2 3 10
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :